Posted by: janpierce | December 17, 2007

Choose Your Own Adventure

   Do you remember the Choose Your Own Adventure books?  At crucial moments in the storyline you were given multiple choices to weave the story to your own liking.  What power!  What control!  It made the books unique. 

  I have been thinking about Paul’s words to the believers in Phillipi where he gives them advice on how to behave and think in their world. Paul wrote:  “Friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious – the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly.”  (The Message)  Sounds like good advice doesn’t it? But how to have that kind of control over our thoughts and deeds in this frenetic and sometimes out of control world? 

   Just before this verse Paul reminds the believers that peace comes when we pray, and at the same time trust God.  Just after, he speaks of their generosity to him.  The dwelling on positive things comes in the middle of these two things – trusting prayer and generous actions. 

   Here’s what I have decided. If I want to have a peaceful and productive life I can make that happen based on my choices.  Without putting my head in the sand and being unaware of today’s life circumstances I have the power to choose to pray while trusting God to handle things, I can choose what to focus on and what my actions will be. I can choose beauty over ugliness, peace over strife, and generosity over selfishness. I can choose my own adventure! 


Responses

  1. Now that I think of it that way, that seems to be how things have gone for me. So much of the time I used to be frustrated about circumstances in my life. It seems I was always angry and griping about something. Then one day (after seeking God for sometime) I simply “chose” to follow Jesus. I hadn’t reflected on how my choices since then have had such a positive effect on my life. But the fact of the matter is, since that time, without really thinking about it, I have been regularly making choices that have led me away from anger, etc. and I have been experiencing a whole lot more joy and happiness. Could this be the Holy Spirit at work?

  2. Philippians 4:4-9 is one of my favorite Bible passages! We do have choices with every single thought in how we proceed along in life. Taking “every thought captive” is a good defense against the attacks from the enemy of our soul & the pressures of this world. We have freedom in Jesus Christ to live a life worthy of Him. We just need to walk into that freedom. God is with us every step of the way. It helps to know He is in control & allow Him to lead out each day.


Leave a comment

Categories