Posted by: janpierce | December 11, 2007

November 28, 2007

 After visiting an orphanage in southern A.P. India, I began to research the issue of childhood malnutrition in India.  I found that the problem is staggering and that more than 400 million children suffer from lack of adequate food in India daily.  India has the greatest population of malnourished children in the world, even worse than sub-Saharan Africa.  There are many reasons for the problem besides the obvious problem of poverty.  There is also a lack of understanding of general health practices, inadequate housing, lack of clean water supplies, virtually no prenatal care for women, etc. 
   As I grew more fond of the children and as I began to see their needs more clearly I determined to raise some funds to augment the daily diet of the orphans.  My One Handful of Rice project was the result.  (see link)


Responses

  1. Jan…thank you for this way to keep up to date on your travels in ministry…you are in my prayers. Praise God for this opportunity following your retirement. Bless you for your faithfulness…your friend, Linda E.


Leave a comment

Categories